Discover Your Island

Faculty & Staff

Christopher E. Bird, Ph.D.
Director

Assistant Professor, Department of Life Sciences

Office: CS 246
Phone: (361) 825-6024
Zip+4: 5802
chris.bird@tamucc.edu


Sharon Magnuson, M.S.
Laboratory Coordinator
Office: CS 245
Phone: (361) 825-2757
Zip+4: 5802
genomics@tamucc.edu

a

Polly Hajovsky, B.S.
Research Technician






a

Lauren Gurski, B.S.
Graduate Research Assistant

Marine Biology Program, Department of Life Sciences


a

Evan Krell
Graduate Research Assistant

Computer Science Program, College of Science & Engineering

evan.krell@tamucc.edu


a

Martin French 
Lab Technition

Biology Program, College of Science & Engineering

martin.french@tamucc.edu


GCL Committee Members

Gregory Buck, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Life Sciences
Office: CS 251
Phone: (361) 825-3717
Zip+4: 5802
gregory.buck@tamucc.edu


Kirk Cammarata, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: EN 319B
Phone: (361) 825-2468
Zip+4: 5800
kirk.cammarata@tamucc.edu



Derek Hogan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Life Sciences
Office: HRI 102
Phone: (361) 825-5883
Zip+4: 5892
james.hogan@tamucc.edu



David Portnoy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biology
Office: HRI 213A
Phone: (361) 825-2859
Zip+4: 5892
david.portnoy@tamucc.edu



Brandi Reese, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Microbial Ecology
Office: SL1 105
Phone: (361) 825-3022
brandi.reese@tamucc.edu



Jeffrey Turner, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Biology
Office: SL1 104
Phone: (206) 550-9848
jeffrey.turner@tamucc.edu


Patrick Larkin, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: CS 203
Phone: (361) 825-3258
Zip+4: 5802
patrick.larkin@tamucc.edu



Magesh Thiyagarajan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Engineering
Office: EN 222D
Phone: (361) 825-2144
Zip+4: 5797
magesh.thiyagarajan@tamucc.edu